CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

How do I change the oil, on my DS650?

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2002, 05:52 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

How do I change the oil? Do I drain it from the crankcase, and the oil tank, and then fill the tank at the top? This is my first time. Where Do I fill the crankase at? I bought Castrol GTX 10w40, is that a good oil?

Also, I didn't buy a new filter, is it ok to wash it and put it back in, and buy a new one for my next oil change? Anything else I need to do, tell me

Old 05-27-2002, 05:54 PM
Trailblazer

Yea read the owners manual it tell you how

Old 05-27-2002, 07:36 PM
Trailblazer

cjm is correct, start with the owners manual it will tell you how. Its your quad but a new filter is the way to go.

Old 05-27-2002, 08:33 PM
Pro Rider

i'll tell you this AdamScramblr400 have need to have alot of rags standing by. It's the messiest oil change i have ever had to do on any bike i've owned.

Old 05-29-2002, 02:35 PM
Extreme Pro Rider

1) Drain the tank - clean the plug well, re-tape it using teflon - skip first two threads, don't allow tape to get into the tank, it may clog tank screen later. Funnel it into a pan using a long skinny funnel.
2) Drain crankcase. let it drip for quite a while - the longer you wait, the less will be in the filter. Clean plug well, magnet included.
3) Change filter - this is where you will pack rags under it - expect a little oil here, as with any other bike filter cover.

If you're changing oil types, you'll want to drain the hose between the tank and motor too. This is what makes the mess. Don't do it until the tank is drained, then there is less pressure.

# 1 - Read the manual!!!

Old 05-29-2002, 03:20 PM
Pro Rider

Adam:

You can order the filters from Bombardier direct. They will ship them to your house so you don't have to drive to your dealer. I wouldn't wash them. I have changed my oil a couple times now and each time use a new filter.