CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

Quest 650 XT First Impressions

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2002, 11:56 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Quest 650 XT First Impressions

Since I gathered a lot of information off this board when I purchased my ATV I want to thank everyone who contributes. I have had my Quest now for a few weeks and have formulated the following impressions. My riding experience is mostly from riding light dirt bikes and snowmobiles, because of the Quest's weight and size it is not a bike that can be thrown around, at first I was a little intimidated by its size but that soon passed after riding it. Although the machine is very large and heavy it is extremely stable, has excellent traction, and rides smooth. I ride in very heavily wooded tight spaces, and am able to easily move around and over obstacles. Basically you have to let the machine do the work.

I looked at many machines, and since I am fairly new to ATV’s I was very open minded. I wanted the machine for plowing and to trail ride, mostly in heavily wooded, mountain terrain. Initially my intent was to purchase a Yamaha Kodiak 450. I went to several dealers and was just unable to get a good deal. The last dealer I went to sold Yamaha, Kawasaki, and Bombardier. Seeing many of these machines in the showroom together it was the Bombardier machines that stood out. They looked more rugged and sturdier than the other machines. What sold me was Bombardiers three year warranty, the Quest was only a few hundred dollars more than the Yamaha when outfitted with the plow. The weight on this machine is 760lbs, which is about 160lbs heavier than most machines, but I think it comes mostly from the heavy frame, wheels, and winch.