CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

Replacing the steering stem (How Hard?)

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2003, 01:34 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Replacing the steering stem (How Hard?)

I need to replace the steering stem on my 02 Baja due to a roll over. How big of a job is it? Also if anyone knows of a good place to get a stem please PM me. Thanks!!

Old 02-18-2003, 02:11 PM
Range Rover

hey baja, i tweaked mine too in a rollover, her's the fun thing though. i took mine to work and fixed it with thicker tubing, made it longer so my new renthals would clear and made the top plate out of half inch plate, it was real easy to do, and the best part it was free, umm i'm a machinist by trade and if other people have bent thier's the best thing to do would be to get in touch with a machine shop, i don't expect any shop would charge u more then 50-75$ to fix it, just my 2 cents....

Old 02-18-2003, 06:51 PM
Pro Rider

start by removing the handle bars first, then all the plastic and gas tank in the front. this will expose the center mount (rubber) 2 bolts there. then down at the base there are more mounting bolts and tie rod connections. i did it the hard way without removing the gas tank (bad idea) should be able to knock it out in about 2-3hrs depending on made you get or how much beer you'r buddies drink watching you[img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-happy.gif[/img] good luck p.s. i have a stock stem if you need. pm me for $$$

Old 02-18-2003, 08:27 PM
Pro Rider

Dang Scott what ya doing. The tires are on the other side of the quad[img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-wink.gif[/img]
I still have my stock one that I bent in a similar manner[img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-blush.gif[/img] I did straighten it out and used it while I was waiting and waiting and waiting on mine from Timmy Boy. Your welcome to it if you want. Mine was bent back toward the tank so it was easy to straighten.

Old 02-18-2003, 08:34 PM
Pro Rider