CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

modify a cdi

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2003 | 04:20 AM
|
Pro Rider
Default modify a cdi

Does anybody know if you can just modify a stock cdi to get rid of the limiter. I'm pretty strapped on cash and can't afford a new one.

P.S. Anybody have one that is willing to sell for cheap. (pm me) please

Old 04-06-2003 | 06:57 AM
Pro Rider
It's official, I've been duning for over 30 years.
Default modify a cdi

Although you can read posts on the aftermarket CDIs on this forum on any given day, in reality they are not a magic box and don't give you much if anything for your money. Gearing and tires are where it's at on a DS, and don't cheap out on the tires. Next a performance air filter, rejet and some clutch springs, after that grab a pitchfork and start throwing money at the DS.
Altering the CDI's rev limit only really comes in handy once you alter the engines useable range and that takes cams, springs, exhaust and carb. Even used, this package will come in around $1000. Oh, and as far as I know, no one has hacked into the stock CDI yet.
If you are dying to get a CDI, and it consumes your every waking thought, try motorcycle wrecking yards and look for a BMW f650 Funduro CDI, they don't have the rev limit and interchange with the DS. I bought one from Europe for around $60.

Old 04-06-2003 | 08:55 AM
Extreme Pro Rider
Default modify a cdi

there is a slight performance gain at all rpms ranges with the aftermarket cdi due to advanced ignition timing, but the increased rev limit does not help in the power dept, I agree with mystereid. many dynos have proven that peak power falls off after 7K, and going past 8K does little good which is why the stock limit is 7700. its so easy to hit the rev limit, most people find it a blessing to be rid of it though.
in the case of mods internal - lack of rev limit is a must, and in some cases myself included the 9300 limit offered by some cdi's is still too low.

Old 04-06-2003 | 01:29 PM