Chinese Quads Brands such as Jetmoto, Yamoto, Redcat, V-Bike, Hi Bird, and Kazuma

taotao ATA150-A main fuse blows

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2016, 01:41 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default taotao ATA150-A main fuse blows

Hi,
I have an Taotao ATA150-A quad and it's been running good for almost a year and now it keeps blowing the main fuse. I am very familiar with ac and dc circuits and very familiar with automotive electrical circuits. I have been trouble shooting in my spare time and have it narrowed down to it blowing as soon as the brake switch is engaged. I am getting close but figured I would if maybe someone is familiar with a common problem with these machines. I am not an ATV expert but I sure can use a meter. Thanks

Old 12-14-2016, 09:19 AM
Super Quad Patrol
Received 20 Likes on 20 Posts

check your taillight for shorting out when brake is applied. Have had that happen to one of mine

Old 12-14-2016, 10:36 AM
Weekend Warrior

Thanks, I will check the brake and let you know what I find!

Old 12-29-2016, 07:29 AM
Weekend Warrior
Default Taillight Shorted Out

Zrock,
You were spot on with the taillight it was the cause of the fuse blowing!
Now I have it cranking but it will not run unless I spray starting fluid into the carb. I have done all the obvious like cleaned the air filter, cleaned and gapped the plug, checked the fuel filter and ect. The name plate calls for 90 plus octane but I have been running it on 87 for a year now. I was unaware it requires premium. I was going to pull the carb and clean it out.
A shot of starting fluid will get it running but cuts out soon after. The choke is working. Any ideas?

Thanks

Old 12-29-2016, 09:26 AM
Super Quad Patrol

iv had better luck using a squirt bottle with fuel in it. then i can keep it running with the squirt bottle for a few min.. I have had a few that have gotten air locked and that was the only way i could get the air out.

Old 01-04-2017, 01:42 PM
Weekend Warrior

Hey Zrock,