Dunes and Dune Machines Discussion on dunes and dune machines.

Paddle choice for YFZ 450

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2006, 04:04 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Paddle choice for YFZ 450

Sorry this is such a basic question, but I’m new to ATV’s and the sand for that matter. I’ll start off telling what I have and what type of riding I like to do.

Bike -
I have a 06’ YFZ 450 that is stock now, but I will be installing a Yoshimura full system exhaust and a Pro design K&N filter kit today. Within the next few days I will be taking it in to the dealer to get the first service done. At that time I will have them rejet, adjust the valves and do the cam mod (their recommendation).

Riding/experience -
I will be riding in Oregon at Sand Lake and Winchester Bay most of the time. My first riding experience and my first sand experience were good. I liked the tree shots and the bowls…basically just your average all-around riding. I don’t really drag race anybody other than my buddies.

Question –
When I bought the bike I was talked into getting a set of 20x10x10 Hauler Extreme 10 paddles. After meeting people at the dunes and doing lots of reading on sand tires I feel like those aren’t the best setup for my bike and riding type. I like the extremes but I’m thinking about going with less paddles. Would anyone like to recommend a better setup for my quad? I have been doing so much reading on tire size and number of paddles that’s best for the sand…my head hurts.

Again, sorry if this is such a basic question for most of you on here.

Thanks,
Jaromy

Old 02-06-2006, 08:44 PM
Pro Rider