General Chat Ask for ATV help above in the Brand Discussions Area. Use this forum to discuss Life, Music, ETC. Or discuss pretty much anything BUT no political or religious threads. There's an area for that.

Fuel injection necessary for cold weather ??

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2009, 10:24 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fuel injection necessary for cold weather ??

Ok, I'm a newbie, and I admit I know very little about this stuff....

I am buying an ATV for plowing snow in the winter. Pretty much that's all it'll be used for. Maybe a little yard work, hauling wood and such around my property. But 80% of the time it will be pushing snow. Think, little tractor. It'll probably never see a trail ride. (I know, sad )

So, how important is fuel injection? This ATV will be sitting in a cold Minnesota shed and needs to start up at temps ranging from -20 to 20 F.

I was pretty set on a Honda Foreman or Rubicon, but drove my friends John Deere (which are now Can Am's??) and I thought he said it had fuel injection.

Any help is appreciated!

Old 06-01-2009, 05:59 AM
Pro Rider

Necessary, no but it does start easier. I live across the border and ran choke machines until 06. You just have to let it warm up longer before it runs smooth. At -20 you need to start easy anyway, the belt and everything else is going to be stiff.

Old 06-01-2009, 08:59 AM
Pro Rider
Lets Ride!
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Yeah its not a do or die situation.....but having EFI in the cold is a very nice bonus to have. Especially if the quad is going to sit for any amount of time in the cold.

But seeing as how you are in MN, my guess is that you will be plowing a lot. I use my Rancher to plow here in NY (a lot) and since it is started just about every other day or so to move snow around, starting it up in the cold is not usually a problem. But if it sits more than a couple days.....EFI would be nice......

I would go with EFI if its not a big price upgrade.