General Chat Ask for ATV help above in the Brand Discussions Area. Use this forum to discuss Life, Music, ETC. Or discuss pretty much anything BUT no political or religious threads. There's an area for that.

How To Safely Load My ATV Into My Truck?

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2009, 02:55 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How To Safely Load My ATV Into My Truck?

Hi. I'm brand new to ATV's and I just picked up a 2008 TRX400EX. I was given a set of ramps (aluminum, about 8 feet long) with the purchase. My question is, how do I safely load the ATV into the back of my Toyota Tacoma? I've been riding dirt bikes for years and bikes are light enough to push up the ramp by hand. However, the ATV is a bit heavy. It doesn't seem safe to ride it up. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I'd rather admit to being a newb than to trash my new quad before I even get it to the trails!

Old 08-27-2009, 03:15 PM
Range Rover

Ride it up.

Old 08-27-2009, 03:31 PM
Weekend Warrior

Is that what most people do?

Old 08-27-2009, 03:42 PM
Range Rover

Yeah I would imagine so. It how i load mine.
With the atv you got it may actually be light enough to push up if you really wanted to dependent on the type of ramps you got.

If you have to seperate ramps you could just get it in neutral and push it up with the wheelie bar walking in between the ramps, but of course if your truck is on an incline it may roll back out.

If you got a set of tri-fold or bi-fold ramps (my preference) then just ride up it

If you really dont like the thought of ramps your bike is prob light enough to lift the front end onto your tailgate and then lift the rear at the wheelie bar and just push it in, no ramps needed, but again it would need to be in neutral and could possibley roll out.

In all honesty once you ride it up a few times you'll realize your probably overthinking it and realize its easier/safer then you think.

Old 08-27-2009, 03:48 PM
Super Moderator
Well, golly JimBob!