General Chat Ask for ATV help above in the Brand Discussions Area. Use this forum to discuss Life, Music, ETC. Or discuss pretty much anything BUT no political or religious threads. There's an area for that.

Independant Vrs straight rear suspension

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2009, 12:50 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Independant Vrs straight rear suspension

I am new to the ATV world. Just recently this year I started riding with my friend. He has an Artic Cat 400 4X4 with independent suspension all the way around. Rides very nice. Well, I have been looking to buy an ATV and have found one that has a straight suspension in the rear. It is a Yamaha Kodiak 400 4X4. It is in excellent condition and the price is good. I'm looking to get some opinions on if its a decent ride and if its worth spending my 3 G's on it or hold out to find a rig with independent all the way around. Thanks in advance.

Jason Carlton

Old 09-25-2009, 01:49 PM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I personally prefer IRS. As most other people here will tell you, it depends on what you are planning on doing with your ATV. If you are just doing general trail riding, you are likely better off with the independent suspension as you will have better clearance. The trad-off is more moving parts and some will say they are not as stable, though most never have any issues. If you are towing heavy stuff or loading it down, that would be another good reason to go with a straight axle in the rear. You will probably be ok going either route, but a machine with IRS will be more comfortable and you will notice after a full day of riding.

Old 09-25-2009, 02:57 PM
Pro Rider
Lets Ride!

Originally Posted by jasonefd19