General Chat Ask for ATV help above in the Brand Discussions Area. Use this forum to discuss Life, Music, ETC. Or discuss pretty much anything BUT no political or religious threads. There's an area for that.

What 2 Buy (Re-post)

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2012, 07:07 PM
BDB
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What 2 Buy (Re-post)

I am new to ATV's and need some help. I am looking to purchase an ATV for riding on my rural 'Hard Pack' roads ans some off roading. I live very close to the Wayahutta ATV train system in Western North Carolina and would like to explore that also. I am a retired guy - take that into account.

I saw a 2008 Honda Rancher used on Craigs List for $4000. I am a little scared of purchasing a used machine. Is The Rancher what I need? What do you look for when looking at a used machine.

If I were to buy -New- what features should I look for?

Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Old 06-20-2012, 08:44 PM
Pro Rider
Your friend needs to stop smoking whatever it is that is rotting his brain!
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

What Rancher model was it? 420? what options does it have? you can look up the value on Kelly Blue Book, or NADA, and get a good idea what its worth. Unless the owner is a total idiot and abused it badly, the Honda is pretty bulletproof, and would last you for many years of trail riding. If you need a comfy ride, Polaris has about the best riding suspension,very plush. The newer quads starting in 2007 with Yamaha Grizzly 700 now have EPS (electric power steering) as an option, very nice for long rides, take a lot of the work out of maintaining control, and soaks up trail bumps nicely. For the last couple of years, almost all offer power steering now, so that opens up your choices too. Best thing is to go to some local dealers and sit on or test ride as many as you can, see what 'fits" you and what has features you like.

Old 06-20-2012, 10:34 PM
Trailblazer