General Chat Ask for ATV help above in the Brand Discussions Area. Use this forum to discuss Life, Music, ETC. Or discuss pretty much anything BUT no political or religious threads. There's an area for that.

ATVs at Bonneville Speed Week

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2018, 06:03 AM
Back Country Explorer
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default ATVs at Bonneville Speed Week

I had the pleasure of attending three days of the Bonneville Speed Week. It is in Utah, a very friendly ATV state. Many folks used ATVs to get around or run errands on the expansive area of the salt. Sure, there were bicycles, dirt bikes and lots of hot rods. But our ATVs are useful transportation tool also. You can carry things and pull a trailer. The course is about 7 miles long, the pits are about 3 miles from the start line, and the pits are about 3 miles long. It is a big, big area.

This is my first time at Bonneville. It is a "grass roots" motorsport for sure. I didn't see any big transporters or luxury motorhomes here; just guys working on their cars under canopies. These "hot rods" are built to a rule book and then run for a "world record". I saw lots of small block Chevy motors. It was the 70th year of the event. I think the event was started when Pontiac (the Bonneville) and others were doing endurance speed testing. And the California hot rodders were running "races" on dry lake beds and / or the beaches of Daytona, Fl. I imagine it was "my hot rod is faster than yours" top speed competition that grew on the smooth, hard salt surface way out here in Wendover, UT.

I want an ATV / UTV class to answer the question "who has the fastest quad in the world". There are lots of motorcycle classes, so why not?

David

Bonneville pits

Trying for fastest Harley

Old 08-14-2018, 03:49 PM
Range Rover