Old 07-24-2004, 09:48 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Old 07-24-2004, 11:22 PM
Trailblazer
Default is this a scam?

Greetings,
I saw this post and had to comment. I am a law enforcement officer in West Virginia. In the past year I have personally worked four (4) cases involving the purchase of quads over the internet. In my cases, they were all ebay related, all victims sent money out of the US to Canada, and all expected someone to ship a quad from a foreign country to them in the US. Please be extremely cautious when dealing with foreign transactions, or any quad purchase that just seems too good to be true. Pleae do not be fooled by the look of the advertisements or website, or auction. You should not attempt, in my opinion, to purchase a quad over the internet from outside the US for these reasons. Here are some ways to help determine if a deal is legitimate.

1) Try to only deal within the US, or in person in Canada. Get an actual person's name. Ask how to spell it several times, make them repeat it.

2) LIE to them.....when they tell you the location of the quad, lie to them and tell them that you have a friend (by coincidence) that only live about 20 minutes away and that you want your friend to stop and verify the condition of the quad / person / dealership. I dont care if you have to say you have a friend in India, just do it and wait for a reply... a legit deal should make arrangements for a time and date for the meeting......or else.

3) Try to obtain a phone number and physical address for the person and/or dealership. A website is not a physical address. A cell phone is not useful, no matter what CSI says. Dealers, like this one on the post, that have a yahoo or hotmail email??? No wonder they sell cheap it's a free anonymous email service...now why would a legit dealer need that???

4) Call the actual phone number, better yet, look it up in the phone directory. A legitimate dealer should be listed.