Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

Rubicon Questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2000, 11:12 AM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have a 2000 QuadMaster right now. It's for sale because I don't like the belt drive. I like the automatic concept of the Rubicon (automatic with no belt to get wet), but it seems that Honda is really lagging in some areas and charging a lot more money. I'm looking to buy a 2001 QuadRunner 500. Here is why: front disc brakes, semi-independent rear suspension, selectable 2WD and 4WD, and very stable (low center of gravity), and about $1200 less. Dis-advantage: it's a 5 speed. Can you guys point out some advantages of the Rubicon? I have always liked Honda products, but it seems they just aren't keeping up in a lot of areas. I do like their new transmission concept though. Thanks.

Old 08-27-2000, 12:00 PM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

"You pays yer money and yer takes yer cherce."

I'm amazed at the show-stopping, turning-point importance of disk-vs-drum brakes to some.

I believe properly sealed, designed, and adjusted drum brakes are adequate for utility quads. I even remember when all popular production automobiles had drum brakes on all four wheels.

Now, if someone runs screaming from the room at the thought of drum brake-induced deceleration, or if drum brakes are contrary to their religious persuasion, those individuals would be happier with a marque other than Honda.

I don't gainsay disk brake operational advantages (e.g., lower weight, fade resistance, no continuing adjustment required); however, the contrast is not a show-stopper for me. If this issue rises to that level for others, no problem--vive le difference, fortunately disk brake-equipped quads are available for those customers, I'm glad to say. The bottom line for me is, when applying the brakes, does the vehicle reliably slow down or stop within a workable distance? Fact of life: Rubicons have drum brakes.