Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

05 Foreman S

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2005, 03:02 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 05 Foreman S

Hello, im new to all this. havent had any offroad vehicle since i was atleast 6. im now 20 and me and my dad went and got our new 05 Foreman S 4x4 for the land he just bought . i was wondering if there was any things to be done to enhance trail riding like lift kit or stiffer rear shock/spring setup. i will be seeing muddy hills to climb on my trails or deep dips to climb out of. What about power? i noticed this 475cc put out alot of lowend which is great , but do i need more? [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-wink.gif[/img]

thanks in advanced

Old 09-29-2005, 10:19 AM
Pro Rider
Default 05 Foreman S

Great machine and with proper maintenance should provide years of trouble free service. Take the time to read the owners manual and review the mainteneace stuff in it.

I dont think you'll need stiffer rear springs, they're pretty stiff stock. Lift kits for hondas are usually nothing more then longer shocks or spacers to use wiht the stock shocks. Problem is that they make the CV joint angles in the front axles operate at a sharp angle and may wear prematurely, especially if you get bigger tires.

The best mod you can make is to upgrade the tires, you'll quickly tire of the crappy stock tires and want something more. ITP 589's, Mudlites are good allround tires, mudzillas, mud bug and so on are great if your heavy into the mud. Most of these tires are 6 ply whick give you better handling for speedy turns, and have better puncture resistance.

Another nice addition is a Warn winch, saves alot of hassle if you get stuck and by if I mean when.

Old 09-29-2005, 02:34 PM
Weekend Warrior
Default 05 Foreman S