Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

2006trx450er jetting probs w/ hmf s/o

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2006, 04:02 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2006trx450er jetting probs w/ hmf s/o

After break-in and first service from dealer I put a hmf sport series slip-on on my stock 2006 450er. Hmf recommends a 165 main jet and bigger pilot which i purchased from them with pipe. They also recommend 2 and 1/2 turns out on the mixture screw, but thats what mine was set at from dealer. After installing pipe and jets and removing air lid, 3/4 to full throttle produces sputtering and hesitation. I'm a newbie to jetting but from what I read this sounds lean??? I went to local dealer and picked up a hand full of different sized main jets 155, 160, 170, and 172 (they were out of 175), First tried 172 because hmf also told me it sounded like I was running lean, didn't really notice a difference. I ordered an adjustable needle after reading some threads about the non adjustable stock needle. I'm using a stock air filter, though I did just order a k&n filter and outerwear prefilter. I've read that some people with hrc kit or full pipe mods with different cams are using larger main jets 180-190, but friends and my local dealer say they find it hard to believe I would need anything bigger than 175. I know it's just a matter of fine tuning and finding the right set up, but I was hoping to get some info from other 06 450 owners. I plan on installing the new adjustable needle, 3rd clip from the top seems to be the rule of thumb. Going to pick up some bigger main jets (175-185?). Any suggestions? Thanks in advance for the help!

Old 05-11-2006, 10:19 AM
Trailblazer

hey man i just bought an 06 trx 450 too and when they service it what all do they do and how long does it take them thanx

Old 05-11-2006, 11:36 AM
Pro Rider