Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

Rincon Spitting and Sputtering!!

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2008 | 07:49 PM
|
Weekend Warrior
Default Rincon Spitting and Sputtering!!

I got a 05 Rincon, 6500 miles, 27 inch mud runners, 1.5 inch lift in the front and a self-fabricated muffler tip (2 inch), and a dealer installed jet kit and k&n filter. No major problems throughout the life of the bike other than cv boots, tie rod ends, and a water pump. Now it starts fine, idles fine, but at 1/4 to 1/2 throttle it will cut out and off if i dont let off the gas, sometimes higher rpm sometimes lower, and the ironic thing is, this started happening 1 month after the extended warranty expired. The service manager told me over the phone that it sounded like a jet stopped up. I know for a fact that it is not trash in the tank b/c i took it off and completely cleaned and rebuit it. i am a novice mechanic so i am not going to tear into the carb. and with $110 per hour shop fee, i can buy the whole new carb for $250. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Old 04-23-2008 | 09:34 PM
Extreme Pro Rider

So it ran fine after the mods and jets, until recently?

If so, I'd concur with the dealer that the carb likely needs cleaned. It really isn't that big of a deal for someone with moderate mechanical skills and a service manual.

If you haven't done something like that before, maybe there's an experienced buddy you could invite over to help?

Old 04-24-2008 | 05:33 PM
|
Weekend Warrior

i am pondering taking it off but scared to disassemble it, where can i get a service book from? and yeah i got the mods when it was new, just ran fine one weekend, sorry the next weekend in february

Old 04-24-2008 | 07:01 PM
Pro Rider