Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

450ES vs. Kodiak 4WD

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-1999, 10:16 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm VERY close to my first ATV purchase and will readily admit I am a novice when it comes to knowing much about them. I have done quite a bit of research though, and have narrowed my choice down to a Honda 450ES or a Yamaha Kodiak 4WD.

My wife wants to learn to ride as well. She doesn't like changing gears and because of that I am intrigued by the automatic transmission on the Kodiak. On the other hand I am well aware of the high degree of Honda reliability.

Specifically would feedback on the following comments:

1) Automatic transmission on Kodiak. Sings" loudly and can be quite bothersome.

2) The Kodiak transmission will slip when wet because it is belt driven.

3) The Honda turning radius (because it is full time 4WD)is is much wider than a Yamaha (when in 2WD).

3) The Kodiak has more power/ torque.

4) There is no way to log hours on a Kodiak and no add-on for that purpose.

5) The 450ES LED speedometor is unreliable and drains power even when the unit sits turned off.

6) The electronic shifting on the 450ES can be quite uneven at times (ex: shift from 2 to 3 is not instantaneous).

PLEASE, feel free to comment freely! You can't hurt my feelings, because I haven't developed a brand loyalty.

At least not yet anyway!

Thanks,

Keith

Old 09-09-1999, 11:15 PM
Trailblazer

I can only speak from personal experience, but...

>5) The 450ES LED speedometor is unreliable and drains power even when the unit sits turned off.