Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

Honda Rancher 4x4 Mileage Question

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2011, 12:12 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Honda Rancher 4x4 Mileage Question

Good afternoon. I'm new to the board and new to ATVs.

I've been hunting for many years. I just got permission to hunt a piece of land and it will really only be feasible if I have an ATV to get to anf from the area.

I've been researching ATVs and it seems that Hondas have the best reliability ratings. I've gone into a few dealers, and I like the rancher...but I don't want to lay out $5500+.

I've found a few used in my area. I have no idea what is good in terms of mileage / hours though.

For example, I went to see a 2006 Rancher 4x4 (full auto) yesterday. I looks like it's in great shape, and has 1500 miles (asking $3200).

I plan on using it for hunting season only, then putting it in the garage the rest of the year. That said, I want something that will last with only routine maintaining for a long while.

What mileage is good on average? Do you think 1500 miles for a 2006 at that price is good?

Thanks for the help.

Pete

Old 08-15-2011, 12:19 PM
TLC
Extreme Pro Rider
God forbid he lets the polishing secret out!

1,500 miles better be considered low. or you would need to buy a new $6000 ATV every 2 years.

There is a Guy on this site who has a 3yr old 2009 550 Polaris XP with over 9000 miles already on it.

Old 08-15-2011, 12:24 PM
Weekend Warrior

Ha. Thanks. As you can tell, I'm very green when it comes to ATVs. I know I want something with good reliability, 4x4 capability to get me up and down the mountain, and powerful enough to carry out a deer. Beyond that??? No clue.

Is there anything I should look for when checking these out? Like things to watch for specifically that might indicate a problem? I'm going to check it out again this weekend.

I really appreciate the help.

Pete

Old 08-15-2011, 12:43 PM
TLC
Extreme Pro Rider