Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

Honda vs. Yamaha reliability??

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2001, 12:33 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am brand new to the ATV scene and I am trying to decide what kind of atv to buy. I know I want a four-stroke sport atv and have pretty much narrowed it down to Honda 300ex,400ex or a Yamaha Warrior. I know the Honda name is great, but I don't know as much about the Yamaha name. Is Yamaha as reliable as Honda?? I have ridden a friend's Warrior, but I have not ridden a 400ex.
P.S. Which handles better??
Thanks

Old 08-06-2001, 01:31 AM
Pro Rider

Well the 400ex handles the best. And is faster then both the 300ex and Warrior. Heres a question for you , Are you any good at riding ? If so i would DEFINATLY get the 400ex. The 400ex has the best suspension , power , speed , and acceleration. The only reason I would say that a 400ex would be wrong for you is that it doesn't have reverse , hopefully you aren't to lazy to get of and turn around a 400ex. Also the chain adjustment on the Warrior is a pain in the A$$.

In my mind Hondas are far more reliable then yamahas , I have owned both and found that Hondas were just more reliable. I'm sure 94dgblaster is going to disagree and tell you to get the 300ex but oh well that MY 2 cents

Old 08-06-2001, 01:57 AM
Pro Rider

honda is WAY more reilable and better built.
and a 400Ex will out handle any bike out there

Old 08-06-2001, 05:52 AM
Range Rover

Well, I have a 400ex and think it handles better than the Warrior. As far as reliability, I havent't had any problems in 2 years (since new). I think it should be more of a personal preference kind of thing. Try and ride both and see which one you like best. I think they are both pretty reliable and will last a long time if you keep up on the maintenance. You can't lose with either one, they are both a great time to ride.

Exer

Old 08-06-2001, 06:59 AM
Trailblazer