Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

Best overall "utility" machine.

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2003, 12:13 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best overall "utility" machine.

I'm prone to Honda, but I would like all opinions on which ATV make/model/size would be the best overall utility machine. What I mean by utility, is an ATV with aftermarket tires, which can pull a 1500 lb trailer full of hunting gear through the worst of the mudholes, up slimy rocky ATV trail off the Alaska highway (like riding in grease) yet not feeling totally worn out after riding for 8 hours straight.
Also, there have been many times where I've had a full size moose on the trailer, where we had to actually put a pole under the tongue of the trailer to lift it onto the hitch! Then slogging through buck brush, huge pot holes, creeks with 12" banks that have to be traversed, and the odd mudhole to winch through.
I've been doing this now for 14 years with my trusty '87 350 Honda Fourtrax, and it's still running as good today as it did when I bought it new, but I believe now with the ATV's on the market, that I'm a little "undergunned" with what's out there now.

Would the newer (larger engined) ATV's be better at getting through the above situations, also giving me a better ride (meaning comfort)? My old Honda has been running the stock tires up until this year as well, which I'm sure would give you and indication that it's done well for what I have. [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-happy.gif[/img]

I would like your opinions on all the makes though, and which ATV would be best for "longevity" as I would plan on keeping it for 10 to 15 years, so holding up over time is a big issue as well.

Thanks in advance...

Powerstroke95

Old 01-06-2003, 01:09 AM
Pro Rider

powerstroke,