Hunting, Trapping, Game Management Discuss Bow and Fire Arm Hunting.

atv and hunting

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2003, 09:13 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default atv and hunting

This is my first year with an atv and love riding the trails, I beleive I made a good choice in buying one.
I noticed right off the bat I was stumbling on deer a lot, in fact I was seeing more deer than I have ever have before and many was within 100 yards I admit they was not standing still. So a thought came in my head, and this is illegal I know, but wonder if any one has shot a deer while riding around on an atv.
I mean basically you would have to have a loaded rifle at the ready while you ride the trails. I am just looking for some input on this as i beleive out west you can hunt with a horse and a loaded rifle(I think).
I have a permit to carry a concealed weapon on me... so I can ride with my .44 mag with no problem. I just cant hit anything with it. So has anyone jumped off an atv,grabbed the rifle, loaded it or just take the safety off and fired at a deer?

Old 09-25-2003, 01:25 PM
Extreme Pro Rider
Default atv and hunting

I've never hunted on an atv but I have also seen more animals on my atv's. I'm sure there are people that do hunt while on an atv considering those who road hunt in a vehicle.

Old 09-25-2003, 02:46 PM
Pro Rider
Default atv and hunting

I'm not 100% sure the laws in your area. But here in Canada you are not allowed to travel in or on any vechile with a loaded weapon.

Old 09-25-2003, 09:27 PM
Weekend Warrior
Default atv and hunting

correct me if I am wrong , I think you can carry a loaded rifle on a horse in many western states. Am I wrong on this? I dont see a difference between a horse and a atv except its moterized and that makes the difference in the law i guess. I aslo know I can legally shoot a deer in my vehicle, like my truck, if I am off the road and in a field or the woods. As long as I am not moving.LOL

Old 09-25-2003, 11:08 PM