Hunting, Trapping, Game Management Discuss Bow and Fire Arm Hunting.

Kawasaki 2000 treestand rack

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2001, 05:42 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Can anyone reccomend a treestand rack for my Kawasaki Prairie 2000 400 4x4? Especially one that does not require any special drilling or mounting? Thanks guys

Old 03-06-2001, 08:59 PM
Pro Rider

stymie,

check out Cabelas. they have two racks that fit all atvs. the prices range from 54.99 to 59.99 the latter requires an extra mounting kit for use on composite racks (19.99). check out www.cabelas.com go to atv accessories-luggage rack and rack extensions-treestand rack.

texascat

Old 03-07-2001, 12:01 PM
Pro Rider

I would watch out on the mounting of these things. I've been using one (yahoo totem) for four years and can say that They take a lot of abuse. I mounted one on my 97 praries steel racks, then when I upgraded quads to the 99 prarie I swapped rear racks so that I could still use the tree stand carrier and gun boot on my steel racks.
I don't see how you could mount one sturdy enough to take trail abuse without drilling through the composite racks in order to get to the subframe.
When you load up a full size climber, the bouncing effect of the ride jars the whole assembly around pretty good. Make sure you bungee cord the stand down to the racks after putting it in the carrier.

Old 03-07-2001, 01:05 PM
Weekend Warrior

tex - I just ordered and received the treestand rack from cabelas - I ordered the model made for composite racks, however, it does not fit or come close. On the package it has a sticker saying that it is made for Polaris sportsman 500's. However, you mention that there is some kind of kit necessary to adapt this to composite racks - where can I get this kit?

Old 03-07-2001, 01:09 PM
Weekend Warrior