Kawasaki Discussions about Kawasaki ATVs.

Tecate 4 wont go in full throttle?

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2003, 06:48 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tecate 4 wont go in full throttle?

Well I finally got my Tecate 4 running and took it up the street but it dies in full throttle. It runs ok at 1/2 or 3/4 throttle but as soon as is nail it it just bogs and wants to die. What could this be Im kinda new to 2 strokes and quads all together as I havent had one in awhile so I need a little help on this one. Could it be that KIPS valve or the carb? Im not sure. TIA

Old 05-17-2003, 07:49 PM
Trailblazer

Anyone have any ideas. I took the cover off the KIPS valve governer and cranked the engine I reved it to see if the KIPS valves were working and they seem to be the little rod moved out when the revs went up?

Old 05-17-2003, 10:12 PM
Trailblazer

You might be running to rich. Turn your air screw out alittle bit. See if that helps. I run 1 1/2 to 2 turns on my dirt bikes. Check your main jet and see what that is. Go down a notch or two there. Also check your needle clip to. See what slot your on. I'm guessing that the carb is a keihin. http://www.keihin-us.com <---------- Is a great web site to help you out! Look on the Internet for a jetting chart for the tecates. Somebody might have one.

Old 05-17-2003, 11:12 PM
Trailblazer

Actually I have a Mikuni carb on there. Its a stock carb as far as I know but I think I may have found the problem. I looked down in my gas tank and screens that the gas goes through before it leaves the tank the longer of the 2 it had popped out of its hole and is just laying in the bottom of the tank.

Old 05-17-2003, 11:15 PM
Pro Rider