Kawasaki Discussions about Kawasaki ATVs.

Jetting Made Simple

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2003, 02:36 AM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Jetting Made Simple

Every day I see on the forum, " What jets do I run? What goes where? What jet should I use?.......so on, and so on. Here is an easy way to find out exactly what is needed, and I mean exactly. Recently I have purchased a Digatron tach one that shows the temperature of the exhaust it has been invaluable in determining the exact jet to use in the front and rear. By trade I am a Machinist/Pressure Welder I use on a constant basis a simple thing to determine heat and it is relatively simple. It is the best thing, it is precise as it gets except for a $1000 dollar infrared heat detection gun. This I am talking about is a Temperature Stick. It consists of basically a wax that melts at predetermined temperatures. You can buy these from a Welding supply store for a couple of bucks and will do you for years. At a temperature you buy the stick for it will melt at that temperature.

Optimal temperature exiting your exhaust from the engine should be no higher than 1200*F at 2 inches from the head on a 4 stroke. I have numerous temp sticks mostly from heat treating metals the ones to use on your exhaust will be a 1200* and a 1300*. Run your quad at 1/2 to 3/4 throttle for 2 minutes immediately come to a stop get off your machine touch the exhaust with the exposed end of the temp stick at 2 inches from the head. If the 1200* melts easily on initial touch then your temperature of exhaust is to high then you must jet up to cool your exhaust down. You will have to do this for the rear exhaust pipe as well so you may have to previously remove your seat to gain access quickly the exhaust pipe cools at fast rate. If the 1200 melts slowly and the 1300 does not melt then you are in the ball park. If the 1200 does not melt at all then you are to rich and must go down in jet size to gain more internal heat.