Kawasaki Discussions about Kawasaki ATVs.

Primary spring article

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2005, 02:45 AM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Primary spring article

There seems to be a lot of questions concerning primary springs in the forums. I have touched on this before but this time I will try to write a more in depth article about the primary spring and what its job is in the CVT system and how the Primary "front" pulley works. This is mainly written for a Prairie 650 but the concept can be applied to any ATV using the P650 belt design.

First of all I am by no means a clutch expert but everything I know was learned by trial and error and taught by Dale Toole, aka Helix, owner of Dalton Industries. A tach is needed to accurately know whats going on with your springs and anything else you do. If you dont have a tach you will just have to use your "seat of the pants method".

To start with, a CVT is made up of four different changeable component. A belt, Flyweights, secondary "rear" spring and a primary "front" spring. All of these components must work together to obtain maximum horsepower from your engine in an efficient mannor. This article will concentrate on the "front" primary spring.

The primary springs main objective is to work with the flyweights to hold the peak producing HP through out the shift curve. The ideal shift curve between low and high ratio is "straight". This means that the engine speed "rpm" is held constant at the maximum producing HP level while the clutches are shifting out to increase your speed.

To help understand this I will discuss "low ratio acceleration" first.