Kawasaki Discussions about Kawasaki ATVs.

1997 Bayou 300, dies when under loadBought

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2018, 12:36 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1997 Bayou 300, dies when under load

Hoping someone can give me some pointers. I'm a diesel mechanic by trade, but give me something with a spark plug and I'm left scratching my head. Lol.

Back story, bought a 97 Bayou 300 4x4 about 6 months ago, guy had just had the carb rebuilt. Ran great, started up every time, good power, no issues. Couple of weeks ago I needed some light while working in the dark, so I started up the quad and let it run for 30 minutes providing light. Problem is I forgot I still had the choke on. When I shut off the other machinery i was using I could hear the rough idle from the quad. Turned the choke off and it died. Starting it back up was difficult. Finally got it started and tried driving it back to the garage. Died on me probably a dozen times, coughed and sputtered, but I finally made it back. Parked it until the next day.

When I came back to it the quad would never start up and run for more than a few seconds, until finally it didn't even do that. Fuel supply was good, spark plug still had spark, so I figured maybe the rebuilt carb had bit the dust. Bought a new carb just like the one on it (aftermarket), installed it yesterday and it still wouldn't start up. So doing some searching online I came across someone with exact same issues and a new spark plug fixed their issues. So I installed a new spark plug even though the old one had spark and didn't look that bad. Quad fired right up with the choke on. I thought all was good.

Once warmed up some I turned choke off and drove it around the field. Came back to the shop and let it idle for a while I grabbed a chain and some other things to do some work with the quad. While idling it starting cutting out a little bit. I thought maybe the idle needed adjusting some more. But that didn't help any.