Kawasaki Discussions about Kawasaki ATVs.

Kawasaki Bayou KLF220-A1 - Knocking - DIY rebuild?

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2018, 07:35 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Kawasaki Bayou KLF220-A1 - Knocking - DIY rebuild?

Hi All,

I recently purchased a Kawasaki Bayou KLF220-A1. It has a knocking engine which was suspected to be a failed conrod - not repaired by the previous owner.

I've bought a service guide, but finding it difficult to source parts here in uk. Does anyone know a good supplier?

What would be your advice on best route to repair? New engine from a second hand source? Investigate and source spares? Are these engine simple, or are there a multitude of pitfalls?

I'm no expert, but i know my way round a set of spanners! Appreciate any comments, or advice.

Thanks
Mike

Old 04-04-2018, 11:40 AM
Trailblazer

I just bought a 220 that smokes so i have been looking into parts myself.

Gasket sets are available from athena ,winderosa and possibly cometic besides Kawasaki. If the price is close oem gaskets are often your safest bet.
o-ring/seal set= oem K&S or winderosa
pistons are available from Wiseco, Namura and again kawasaki. I am not seeing any higher compression or big bore kits so oem may be good enough.

cam chains = oem or DID
rod kit = oem or Vesrah
valve sets = oem or shindy

Check with Parts Europe dealers you should be able to go online and search their catalogs. In the states Parts unlimited (same company) is the biggest distributor so most shops will have access to their products.

Old 04-04-2018, 04:07 PM
Range Rover

I used a Namura piston and top end gasket kit when I rebuilt mine. I've had no trouble with the piston but I found the valve cover gaskets dried out quickly and started leaking.