Kawasaki Discussions about Kawasaki ATVs.

Prairie 650 First Ride and A Raptor Owners Impression

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2001, 08:30 AM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm new to this Kawasaki forum because I own a Raptor, but I can admit when I see or in this case ride something that is impressive. I picked up my father's Kawasaki Prairie 650 last night and had to take it for a thrashing. My impression is [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-happy.gif[/img]. For a 4 wheel drive this is one fun quad to ride. In 2 wheel drive you can slide it around almost as good as a sport quad. It climbed anything I tried in 2 wheel drive very easy and when clicked in 4 wheel drive it laughed at me begging for a steeper hill. Hats off to Kawasaki for making the industry that much better. As far as drag racing against my Raptor, The Prairie with me on it got the Raptor out of the hole, but then the Raptor stopped spinning and caught me and passed me. It was still very impressive. In my opinion it could take a Honda 400Ex, and definately out run any other 4 X 4. The quad had 10 miles on it, but I still managed to hit 59 MPH in loose sand, then it got a little shaky in the loose stuff so I backed out of it. I think it would have no problem hitting 65 on hard pack. Hey, that's just my impression of the new king of the 4 X 4's hope it helped anyone that was thinking about buying one.

Old 06-07-2001, 03:19 PM
Pro Rider
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

<< In my opinion it could take a Honda 400Ex, and definately out run any other 4 X 4. >>

You should go post that in the Honda forum, that would be funny!

The new 4x4's are getting crazy these days. The distinction between sport quads and 4x4's is getting more and more blurred. If a manufacturer can come out with a 4x4 quad that weighs under 400lbs and has 8&quot; or more of travel, manual clutch and selectable 2 and 4 wheel drive then I want one!

Old 06-07-2001, 05:06 PM
TG1
Pro Rider