Kawasaki Discussions about Kawasaki ATVs.

ATV Lemon Laws?

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2001, 12:45 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

This is my first time to log on, so please bare with me. We purchased a Kawasaki Bayou 4 x 4 in 12/00 for our childrens Christmas. First thing we have ever paid cash for! About 6 weeks after, we had to take it to the shop. It was leaking oil. After 2 weeks I called to check on it. I was told that it would be 2 - 3 more weeks before the parts would be in. The main seal was leaking and they had to tear the motor down completely and replace all seals. I was furious. My husband works hundreds of miles off so I had to take care of this by myself. The next day, I called the Manager and told him not to order the parts. This machine was only 2 months old and I would not accept a new machine with a re-built motor. I am sure there are lemon laws for ATV's. He informed me that the lemon laws are different than that for automobiles. Needless to say, he got on the phone that day and had the parts delivered immediately. Three weeks ago I had to once again take this atv in because it was leaking in the rear end. The mechanic called me yesterday and said there was NOTHING wrong with the machine. "It" (? I guess a seal) had water in it. He slapped my hand and indicated that it is very important to always check the fluids and not to take it through water. EXCUSE ME! I paid good money for this machine and 9 times out of 10 my 13 year old daughter or my 7 year old son or my 65 year old father in law ride this atv. It has NOT been mishandled or mistreated in ANY way shape or form. I get home this afternoon and where the atv is parked under the carport has a huge puddle of oil!! A naked eye can see where the oil is leaking. I am going to take it back tomorrow. I need some influence on this. I have a very bad and short temper. My first thought this afternoon was to call my Lawyer. I am still pondering the idea!!!! Please Help!!!!![img]i/expr