Kawasaki Discussions about Kawasaki ATVs.

I Think I Broke Something Today, Need Help

Search this Thread

Old 11-24-2002, 10:46 PM
Range Rover
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I Think I Broke Something Today, Need Help

I was riding all day today in low gear and started riding with a guy on a Z400. We both tool off and I forgot I was in low gear. I heard a clunking sound and instantly let off. I looked down and saw I had hit almost 40 mph. I stopped and the bike looked ok underneath. I started riding again and noticed that when I was on the gas it seemed fine but when I let off the gas I could hear the bike make a clunk clunk clunk sound as it slowed down. I started to ride in high gear after that because it didnt make the clunking noise when slowing. Here is where things got worse. We found a steep hill, so figuring I needed low to get up it and I only seemed to have trouble when slowing, I started up the hill. I got 3/4 up the hill when I hit the leaves and the rear wheels really started spinning fast. At that point I heard it clunk real loud and it stopped moving. After getting towed up the hill (couldnt go down backwards), low seemed to work fine at a steady speed, but it clunks more when slowing. Does it sound like I messed up my low range ? It almost sounded like it was coming from the front diff., but since I never had it in 4wd it didnt seem likely. Any ideas ?

John

Old 11-25-2002, 02:54 AM
Pro Rider

From reading other posts, I think you just need to adjust your shifter linkage. It's not going all the way into low range, hence the clunking sound. That seems to be a problem on a lot of the 650s although I haven't had any trouble with mine. Hopefully, someone who has had linkage problems will respond and give us some insight.

Old 11-25-2002, 05:21 AM
Pro Rider

I agree it sounds like the linkage needs adjusted.

Old 11-25-2002, 06:39 AM
Range Rover

Thanks, I'll give that a try today.

John

Old 11-25-2002, 06:46 AM
Pro Rider