Kids Quads Discussions about Kid's Quads and other ATV's.

'04 Sportsman 90 Review.

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2005, 02:31 AM
Range Rover
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '04 Sportsman 90 Review.

Ok, I might as well add to the wealth of information out there. Here we go with my review:

First of all let me say this, my 8 yr old 55lb son has perma-grin. He has had it out 5 times. 2x's at the sand dunes and 3x's on some 4x4 two track roads close to town. I'm not a proponent of sand dunes as we generally ride in the mtns (don't open until May 15th), but let me say this, the dunes are a great place for a youngster to gain some confidence in the forgiving sand. He's quickly learned angles, appropriate speed, body placement on the quad, and what his limits are. So with that said....

-It fits my 8 yr old perfectly. He can stand up and shift his weight as needed.
-It came with a helmet, flag, and safety video. Helmet is not a bad looking black helmet. Better than my "old mans" helmet.
-Plenty of suspension travel in the shocks. When I sit on it at 180lbs, it squats about 2/3 of the way down. Soft enough to help him out. He's never complained about being banged around. Today at the dunes he used all 4 inches of the suspension travel on many occasions and it held up well.
-Chain tensioner.
-Complete floor boards. He plowed through a whole lot of mud today (on the way and back from the dunes) and walked away with only dribbles on his shoes. I even let him back in the truck ;-) ...and no troubles with water and mud in the cvt/intake area. I'm sure there's deeper water in the future for him to see if the floor boards are the actual limit for water. I'm sure they are.
-No maintenance--at this point.
-Speed. I clocked him at 32 mph with my SP 335 speedometer. Note...just had my sensor replaced last month for the speedometer. It does well once momentum has been established. I couldn't believe it went that fast!!!