Kids Quads Discussions about Kid's Quads and other ATV's.

Chinese Quad post buy pre-ride inspection. Mine is a sunl

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2007 | 12:51 PM
|
Trailblazer
Default Chinese Quad post buy pre-ride inspection. Mine is a sunl

I bought my son a SUNL 90 about a year ago. I have a strong mechanical background and I'm an electrical engineer so I have the tools to wrench this thing. I have yet to have a problem with his quad other than replacing that garbage battery they put in them. This is what i did to it when I got it home.

1. Pulled all the plastics
2. Took off every nut and bolt on the entire bike and marked where it went
3. Checked all the welds
4. Relocated the top shock mount location further in towards the center of the bike approx. 2 inches.
5. Made sure all bearings had ample lubrication.
6. Drained the motor oil and ran a flush through the motor and replaced it with high grade 4 stroke oil
7. Removed the exhaust
8. Bought and modified a supertrap exhaust without a silencer just an exhaust tip
9. Relocated Carb air intake from a reverse mounted peice of junk to a front mounted k&n air sucking champ
10. Changed the NST sparkplug with a NGK R
11. Installed 3 inch spacers from Raceway atv on all 4 wheels.
12. Installed a set of 8 inch douglas rims with glider paddles on the back and mowhawks in the front.
13. Went front to back puting every nut and bolt back with loctite
14. Relocated every single electrical component after disconnecting them and wrapping them in electrical tape for waterproofing purposes and put them in areas with low heat, decent airflow, and out of the way of any moving parts.
15. Got the bike buttoned back up and it looked completely different.
16. Adjusted the carb for the two simple mods of the exhaust and k&n
17. Done

This thing runs like a bat out of hell!!!! He actually takes my tri-z a little off the line. His is a straight automatic but still it pulls hard. Gets up to about 35 or so. Plenty fast for a 6 year old.