Kids Quads Discussions about Kid's Quads and other ATV's.

What size for a 5 year old?

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2010, 07:37 AM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What size for a 5 year old?

He'll actually be closer to 6 by the time he get's it at Christmas but I just picked up a Kazuma 50 for my 3 year (she'll be 4 in January) so I thought I might as well ge him a quad now and hide them both so I don't have to pay "Christmas" prices. I was thinking either the sportsman 90 or the predator 90 but according to the youtube videos the predator is a screamer and I don't really want him to go THAT fast. The sportsman seems to be geared lower which is what I want. We have a lot of trails with a lot of hills and ruts and a little mud and rocks so I was leaning more toward the sportsman. Any advice? He's a LITTLE taller than the average 5 yr old. Please no responses about laws and regulations we all know what a bunch of CRAP those are. I'm a teacher and see 11 yr old kids that are 5' 10" and pushing 200 pounds and these "laws" want them on a 50? Give me a break.

I just watched a couple youtubes on the predator 50 and it seemed to do quite well. What year did they change from 2-4 stroke?

Old 09-10-2010, 08:18 AM
Extreme Pro Rider
LT80 Expert
Received 32 Likes on 31 Posts

Welcome to the forums.
It's all about how a rider fits a machine.
::Sitting on the machine, knees are bent. Fingers can reach and pull all controls. When standing there are 3 inches between inseam and seat.
IMO, the 3/4 year old should have a 40cc and that's only if she advanced from a battery machine. The 6 yr old needs that 50. If he's expierienced, maybe a 70.

Old 09-12-2010, 07:11 AM
Pro Rider