Kids Quads Discussions about Kid's Quads and other ATV's.

LT80 Hard Start

Old 02-21-2011, 07:43 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LT80 Hard Start

Good morning everyone. First time posting but I have been stalking the forums for quite some time. Let me start by saying thank you for all the great advice in the past.
I am having issues with my youngest's LT80. The thing is difficult to start. Once started and warm it runs like a scalded dog but getting it to idle after sitting all night is a bear. With the choke on it fires right up but dies after a couple of seconds. Repeat this about 10-12 times and it will finally stay running. After about twenty more seconds I can push the choke down and run it hard all day. It just annoys my son and discourages him from wanting to ride that first ride of the day.
I am an aircraft mechanic by trade, so I'm not a novice making things run, and have a garage full of toys that I maintain myself. I took the carb apart, soaked in cleaner, installed a rebuild kit (so all the jets are new, with a 90 main), installed a set of Boyson reeds, new Uni Filter, aftermarket petcock, new carb vent hose (to insure it wasnt restricted), capped off the petcock port on the carb, flushed the tank, new gas, plug etc. It still is stubborn to start.
I also have 120psi compression. No problems there.
Outside of a new sprocket/chain kit the bike is stock.
Any suggestions on bringing it to life easier?
Thanks,
Bob

Old 02-22-2011, 07:12 AM
Weekend Warrior

I know someone has a trick up their sleeve to improve the cold start on these bikes. Anyone?

Old 02-22-2011, 08:08 AM
Extreme Pro Rider
LT80 Expert
Received 32 Likes on 31 Posts

"With the choke on it fires right up but dies after a couple of seconds. Repeat this about 10-12 times and it will finally stay running. After about twenty more seconds I can push the choke down and run it hard all day"