Performance Mods and Project Quads Share and ask for information about modifying your ATV or building project quads.

paddle tire suggestions

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2004, 03:55 AM
Pro Rider
It's official, I've been duning for over 30 years.
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default paddle tire suggestions

I'm starting my next quad project and am looking for some suggestions or insight on paddle tire choice. It's a VTR1000 or Honda Superhawk v-twin using the twin spar aluminum frame mated to some custom framework of my own design. It will use DS650 running gear (axle assembly , hubs, brakes, a-arms you get the picture) and will come close to DS dimensions but obviously need at least a four inch swingarm extension. I have planned this for a couple of years and have about 65% of the parts and more come every week.
I can't really find much info on streetbike motored quads although I've been involved in one project already and been around a few set up mostly for drags. Does anyone have any good info on this kind of thing. Some guys down under have built a couple bikes using VTR motors for a Pikes Peak type race called Race to the sky and I corresponded with one of them but they don't do anything but road race so not really a help.
I guess what I'm shooting for is around 100HP at about 450lbs. Gobs of low end power and can hang with the big dogs but still be very trailable. As such I don't need to go all out with the paddle tire selection and am strongly leaning toward a 23" Scat-Trak on 12" diameter rims with 12 paddle rippers with kevlar. Some say the Kevlar isn't needed but I've seen ALOT of Skat-Traks coming apart lately and anything I can add to help them I'll do.
Anyway, this looks like my biggest hope for info and any comments will be appreciated. I'd be glad to share what I learn on this.

Old 09-07-2004, 03:52 PM
Elite Pro Rider

good choice but maybe less paddles 9 i think.

Old 09-10-2004, 03:10 AM
Pro Rider
It's official, I've been duning for over 30 years.