Performance Mods and Project Quads Share and ask for information about modifying your ATV or building project quads.

400ex crankcase splitting, how difficult?

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2006, 05:43 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 400ex crankcase splitting, how difficult?

Hi, I have owned a few 400ex's and sold them all off and have now started building up a different quad. I bough a 2003 400ex bottom end that the chain busted a hole in the left crankcase. I have bought the new left crankcase on ebay. And I am planning on splitting the case and installing everything into the new case and reassemble.

I am a master certified auto technician and have done tons of mechanical work on atvs, BUT the one thing I have never done is split the case on a atv engine. I know the bearings are pressed into the side cases and will need to be pulled apart, my question is. Are there any tricks to this that the service manual don't address? How hard is it to split the case. Will I need the special puller or will I be able to be carefully tap it apart with maybe the aid of a hairdryer on the case around the bearings to expand the aluminum. Any tips or special tricks would be very much appreicated. And yes I have a factory service manual coming in the mail. thanks for all the help. mike

Old 02-07-2006, 05:55 PM
KTM Patrol
Former Chinese POW!
Received 49 Likes on 48 Posts