Performance Mods and Project Quads Share and ask for information about modifying your ATV or building project quads.

250r Needs Help

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-2002, 12:04 AM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My 86 250r here lately has been cutting out or missing at 3/4-full throttle. The problem has gradually gotten worse here lately. Heres what I know so far. The motor has trinity port/polish, fmf exhaust, k&n filter, 165 main, 48 slow, dont know need needle position. It could very well just need a top end rebuild. I also have a small exhaust leak around the head pipe. Is there any kind of o-ring or gasket there. I couldnt find one. Any way to check to see if it needs a rebuild? Im pretty new at this, so just looking for some help.

td250r
===========
86 trx250r
97 warrior

Old 06-14-2002, 10:23 AM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

There is a an o-ring that goes on the exhaust flange, replace that and that should take care of your exhaust leak. The cutting out issue could be a number of things. Lets start with the simple thing first. Have you cleaned your air filter lately? A dirty filter could cause this. Have you tried a new spark plug lately? When an engine starts running funny, the first thing you should check is to make sure the basic things are ok. When you kick start it, does it kick over easier than it used to (less force on kickstart lever)? If so, you are down on compression and would need a top end rebuild (piston, rings, and maybe an overbore, depends on wear on the cylinder). If that all checks out ok, then the problem probably lies in the electronics. If the CDI is bad, there is no way to test it, the only way to figure that out is to put in a different CDI and see what happens.

Old 06-14-2002, 06:54 PM
Pro Rider