Polaris Ask an Expert! In fond memory of Old Polaris Tech. An area where experts in their field will answer non-general questions about your Polaris ATV.
"old polaris tech" and other experts will answer your questions as they have time.
ASK ALL GENERAL QUESTIONS OR BASIC QUESTIONS IN THE POLARIS FORUM.
Basic or General questions posted in a expert section will be moved!

Complete front drive axles (with hubs)

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2012, 11:52 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Complete front drive axles (with hubs)

I'm a newbie here and need this puzzler put to rest: SP500.

They used the same axles in 97 then skipped years 98,99,00,01 then go back to the same axle they used in 97 for years 02,03 and early 04 (with hubs). I can't say I saw the difference.

I've read the 2200960 is USA (neapco) and 2200961 BTB are the same and will fit only if the axle is complete. Is this true!?!? I read one will not fit the other if your doing a CV to the shaft but one complete vs the other will work on any machine?

Old 04-17-2012, 12:20 PM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 36 Likes on 36 Posts

Welcome to the forum! Think you read right! The whole Neapco, BTB cv joints were a mess to deal with! You couldn't interchange cv joints because the shaft spines were different and even the cv boots were different!. But you could replace a complete drive shaft assembly and would work whether it was Neapco or BTB best I can remember. But there were some models that you had to use the same drive shaft as the atv had(either Neapco or BTB) because of the cv spline length and diameter were different. This was a mess for a while and still is if you order the wrong thing! OPT

Old 04-17-2012, 12:58 PM
Weekend Warrior

"But there were some models that you had to use the same drive shaft as the atv had(either Neapco or BTB) because of the cv spline length and diameter were different."