Polaris Ask an Expert! In fond memory of Old Polaris Tech. An area where experts in their field will answer non-general questions about your Polaris ATV.
"old polaris tech" and other experts will answer your questions as they have time.
ASK ALL GENERAL QUESTIONS OR BASIC QUESTIONS IN THE POLARIS FORUM.
Basic or General questions posted in a expert section will be moved!

Trailblazer250 Help

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2011, 07:33 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Trailblazer250 Help

just noticed a major fuel leak. Seems to be coming from a tube that houses wires etc arouond the crankcase? Does this sound possible. I am new to the Polaris and not sure what to make of it. The bike runs well but it seems to have some rtv sealant around this hose and now there is fuel leaking out.

Also on a second note the bike will not idle in gear. Is this normal? The bike runs ok in nuetral but when the gear lever is pressed forward it will die if brakes are applied, if not the bike rolls and you can drive away? I thought maybe this was normal due to the snowmobile like features of the bike. Very awkward but cool bike. Please Help!
web355

Old 08-26-2011, 04:50 AM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts

Welcome to the forum! trace the "tube" back to its source,probably the overflow line on the carb. Will leak if the needle and seat (needle valve) in the carb is worn or float level out of adjustment. The only other line that will leak fuel is the tank vent hose if its routed downward.
As far as not idling sounds like you need to check the clutches and the belt especially if it creeps in gear or tries to die.Could just need a new belt OR may need new front clutch buttons and rear clutch ramp buttons. A manual would help if you intend on repairing yourself. OPT

Old 08-26-2011, 09:01 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Thanks