Old 12-06-2003, 08:28 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default i bought the scrambler for $850 and now how a few ??? please

Old 12-06-2003, 08:33 PM
Pro Rider

sorry, i bought the 96 scrambler for $850. i was talking to some of you about. the guy said the top end needed rebuilt. so the first thing i did when i got home was pull the cylinder off. the piston is smooth except for two grooves maybe 1/16 of an inch deep and about 1 inch long. I was looking for it to be in pieces. i didnt find any metal shavings or pieces anywhere. would this be enough to keep it from running? sorry, if i ask stupid questions but this is my first time at working on one. thanks again and any additional help you could suggest would be greatly appreciated.

Old 12-06-2003, 08:36 PM
Quad Patrol
Don't let the hp numbers fool you. Its all in how you get it to the ground. Clutching clutching clutching!
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

BUY YOU A SERVICE MANUAL BEFORE YOU GO TOO FAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Old 12-06-2003, 08:40 PM
Pro Rider

where, from the dealer??

Old 12-06-2003, 09:46 PM
Range Rover

Sounds like something is going to a machine shop for serious repairs, or you need new head and if it was me, a complete re-build. If there are grooves on the piston, then there are grooves in the cylinder head-metal to metal contact. Somewhere there are metal shavings inside this motor from metal to metal grinding-has to be. A 1/16" does not sound or seem like a lot, but it is! Think of it this way, 1/16" is .0625 thousands of an inch! That is alot! Therefore, the cylinder walls will need cleand up at least that much depending on what they look like, mybe not that much if you are lucky. However, now you are going to push some serious HP because of higher compression and so on.