Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

How do you change a belt on a sportsman 800efi?

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2005, 11:56 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How do you change a belt on a sportsman 800efi?

My belt is still good, but I am nervous that it will fail way out in the woods. This is my first CVT machine and I am not familiar with them. Everyone seems to think that they cause trouble and I almost went with a rincon to avoid a belt tranny. I love my SP, but I just need to know what I might be getting myself into. Is it a trail side operation, or something better left for the dealer? Should I carry a spare? I am a fairly competent mechanic, just new to the belt thing. Thanks for any info in advance!

Old 05-18-2005, 12:38 AM
Pro Rider

Whats up man! if the belts gonna take a crap on u just take it to the dealer if its still under warranty.

Old 05-18-2005, 01:05 AM
Pro Rider

the polaris PVT is very reliable. you shouldnt have any troubles any time soon if your bike is new. polaris recommends changing the belt at least once a year, depending on how much you ride. the belts are tough!

but of you are that worried about it, carry a spare and the necessary tools to change it. it is an easy trailside fix if you have the right tools.

i recommend getting a service manual and study up!

X

Old 05-18-2005, 12:09 PM
Pro Rider

I have about 4,000 miles on my 1994 300 2x4, on the original belt!! I have about 1,400 miles on my 2002 SP 500 HO, also on the original belt. I do lots of trail riding and have not had a belt problem yet. They seem to have more trouble on the big bore bikes or ones that are in the water alot. If you do have to change one it's real easy, just takes a little while the first time.

Old 05-18-2005, 01:42 PM
Extreme Pro Rider

Originally posted by: stanhaile