Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Mechanical Repair Question?

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2005, 12:03 AM
Range Rover
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mechanical Repair Question?

I have a '00 Sportsman 335 that has a sizable crack (2") in the rubber housing where the drive shaft transfers power to the left rear wheel. Much like a U-joint set-up. Sorry, I'm not a mechanic with all the correct terms, but hopefully that makes sense.

How difficult are those rubber housings to replace and has anyone else had the same problems?

Old 08-02-2005, 12:46 AM
Pro Rider

It sounds like you might be describing the CV boot. If this is your problem, your dealer should be able to replace the boot for about $80 total (about $17 for the boot and about $60 for the labor). This price assumes that the CV joint (underneath the boot) is OK and does not need to be replaced too. If you are mechanically inclined, by a manual, and give it a shot. When you get really good at this you should be able to do it in less than an hour.

Old 08-02-2005, 12:57 AM
Range Rover

That sounds correct. I believe it is the boot covering the CV joint that I'm talking about. The CV joint is still good and not dirty from my last ride. I think I'll take it in to the dealer. It's a time issue and I need the atv this weekend and next. Thanks for your response.

Old 08-02-2005, 01:12 AM
Pro Rider

yea man it sounds like your boot is cracked. you should be able to get a new boot with the grease and clamps for about $20.00. Try doing it you self because its not verry hard. just do one thing at a time and in order. it should take you baout 1 hour to fix. Its what it took me and om only 16. If you decide to do it your self let me no if you have any questions about how.

Old 08-08-2005, 11:52 PM
Range Rover

I hope this will help. If not PM me and I'll be glad to help.

Inner cv boot replacement: