Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

The Polaris Nuthouse

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2008, 04:06 AM
Moto Psycho
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default The Polaris Nuthouse

<div class="FTQUOTE"><begin quote>Originally posted by: mywifesquad

JF, I mentioned in a earlier post... more Buick's here than in Ca. Yesterday saw on with a Shanghai GM logo on it. does GM have a plant in shanghai? figured youed know being the GM expert here. [img][/img]</end quote></div>

I'm no expert. I've only worked at one plant. I never heard of this one but I know GM has plants in 35 different countries including China. I Googled it and came up with this at Wikipedia:

Shanghai General Motors Company Limited (Shanghai GM) is a joint venture between General Motors and Shanghai Automotive Industry Corporation (SAIC). Shanghai GM manufactures and sells automobiles in mainland China. The company manufactures and sells Chevrolet, Buick, and Cadillac vehicles. Shanghai GM was founded on June 12, 1997 with 50% investment each from Shanghai Automotive Industry Corporation and General Motors. In 2003, the PRC became the second largest single market for General Motors, and GM Shanghai had a 13% market share in mainland China, second only to Volkswagen Group China among foreign carmakers. However, sales dropped for 2004 with the retirement of the Buick Sail. Its replacement, the Chevrolet Sail, was delayed to February, 2005, leaving Shanghai GM in seventh place.

In the future, it is likely that entire new vehicles will be engineered by GM and SAIC's Pan-Asia Technical Automotive Center for GM Shanghai to build.