Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

New to Polaris....Questions.

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2005, 03:24 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to Polaris....Questions.

I have a friend that has just bought two new 300 Polaris, the new one that they just came out with. I was reading his owners manual and it said that along with carb jet changes for high altitude he needed to change the weights in his CVT drive. I of coarse understand the need for the carb jet changes but I am new to CVTs. I realize that weight changes will affect the rpm that the CVT will begin to engage, but how is this affected by altitude? Also how does the "EBS" work? I have noticed that the system will completely stop other Polars on a downhill that I have ridden. This would take a lot off getting used to for me as I am used to the true engine brakeing that is used on Arctic Cats, by utilizing a sprag clutch in the CVT. Is the CVT braking on the Polars adjustable. I have seen people get out of shape on long rocky downhills when the rear wheels lock up with this system, and there is no CVT braking to the front wheels on a Polaris. This seems like a crude system for a company as innovative as Polaris. I must be over looking something.

Old 12-17-2005, 03:31 PM
Extreme Pro Rider
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts

You can easily bipass the ebs on the Polaris atv's by feathering the throttle while going downhill. This will release the ebs and basically freespin. Then you can use your brakes to go slow downhill.

Old 12-17-2005, 09:11 PM
Pro Rider

I second the last post and it is possible to force all wheel engine braking. Pull up to the edge of the hill slightly on the down hill side.
LOOK BEHIND YOU - make sure it is safe to back up!
Put the ATV in reverse, HOLD the reverse over-ride button, and give it enough throttle to make the rear tires break loose (and engage AWD in reverse).