Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Just got two polaris quads help/Hello!

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2006, 02:38 AM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just got two polaris quads help/Hello!

I just traded my 24' travel trailer for two polaris quads.. I recieved a 2003 predatator 500 and a 2001 scrambler 500 2wd. I've been lurking on this board for a while now and I'm very happy to be able to contribute now that I own a couple quads...

I have some questions on the Predator.. While riding this machine which appears to be in good shape (probably hard to tell from looks) I've experienced some rattleling or clicking sound coming from the left side of the motor that I assume is the gearbox? Sorry I'm totally new to quads... I thought maybe it was a loose chain but after asking the local shop they explained how tight the chain should be etc. and it seems fine. This sound usually comes while in 2nd gear (I havn't got into 3rd yet not enuf property) and while I'm turning and it is even louder if I'm going slow... BUT it also can be heard randomly when I'm just driving around.. The clinking is pretty much hard enough that you can almost feel it and hear it..

The Scram does a similar noise but its not as loud..

Right now I'm playing this off as typical noise from a working mechanism but I'd like to hear your guys input on the situation.. They seem fast and they are VERY fun and I cant wait to hit the trails and sand in the pacific northwest asap!!

Thanks.

Old 09-17-2006, 09:03 AM
Super Quad Patrol
I'm watching you!
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

not sure, but is the spokets and chain in good condtion. sometimes when there war alot they will make noise. are they well oiled as well. just a thought, probably not right though.

Old 09-17-2006, 01:10 PM
Pro Rider

The first preds did make alot of noise from the chain slapping the guard

Old 09-17-2006, 01:15 PM
Extreme Pro Rider