Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Norman New Guy checking in

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2007, 01:49 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Norman New Guy checking in

Hello to all,
I am new to this sport, and I am contemplating the purchase of a new Sportsman ATV. This will be my 1st ATV, and I know nothing about them, so let me introduce my problems.
This started off with me looking for a used Sportsman, but in my area there are really none to be had that is decent and low miles. If I do find one, they are running around $4500. A friend recommended looking at a new one due to the Polaris incentives.
I take my wife to the local dealer, and she notices the 2007 Sportsman X2 800. Immediately falls in love for the safety of being able to ride 2 up comfortably. There are none to be had that are used! When I seen the price, I figure this is out of my price range. A friend tells me of a dealer that has the standard model X2 800cc on sale for $6200 out the door. Quick look around and that seems like a killer deal since I am not into the fancy wheels due to this just being a cruiser for 2 middle aged people in open pastures.
So my quest has taken me from a used 450-500cc Sportsman to a new 800 X2. I am leary on such a big ride but the friend says for that price you can ride 1-2 years and resell and probably be close to even.

So, I was wondering what anybody thinks about the Sportsman X2? I have another friend who say's Kawasaki is the only way to go, and Polaris is not that good of an ATV. Wifey loves the flip up seat, I think the price is right, but I am a little gun shy about Polaris and quality control issues. Yet another friend used to be the service manager at a Polaris dealer and he said the early ones did have alot of problems, but he has not been in the business for 6 years and he thinks Polaris has greatly improved the ATV line.