Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

08 Sportsman 500 H.O.

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2008, 02:55 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 08 Sportsman 500 H.O.

Well im new to this and am looking for some help. I have been riding dirt bikes for most of my life, so I could use some good suggestions. I bought a 2008 Polaris Sportsman 500 H.O. and I know that most of these come from the factory pretty watered down (performance wise). So I was wondering what kind of engine modificatgions I can do to get the most out of this four wheeler, any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Old 07-09-2008, 07:01 AM
Super Quad Patrol
I'm watching you!
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

welcome to the forum. the 500 is a good bike but not the most powerful. you may get a few ponies by changing the exhaust but i dont think you'll get alot more out of the engine w/out major mosa. imo.

Old 07-09-2008, 10:41 AM
Range Rover

Greetings and congrats on your new 500. I guess i gotta ask why you bought a 500 instead of a larger motored machine? I feel the 500 is the best all around machine for power versus economy. One thing you shouldnt do is increase the size of your wheels/tires because this will have the opposite effect on power that you are looking for. Perhaps if you do a search on here, clutching might be to your advantage but not being a mechanical guru like others on here, its just a guess. Enjoy your 500....I wish I had my old one back!!!!

Old 07-09-2008, 12:30 PM
Trailblazer