Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Dangers while riding!!

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2008 | 10:50 AM
|
Pro Rider
Default Dangers while riding!!

I've been working on these atv's for 18 years or so now and never owned any till this year. I just finished one for my wife so we went out to a pasture riding to see how she liked it. Shes on hers, I was on mine. Anyway we were just riding around so she could get the feel of it and all of a sudden I see a snake strike at me. If I would have been a 1/2 foot further to the left, with a LUCKY strike he could have nailed me easily. Yes it was a rattlesnake.

I have been out in that pasture shooting prairie dogs, hunting coyotes, drinking beer etc. for around 9 years now. Thats the first time I've ever seen a snake of any sort out there so it never even crossed my mind to worry about it.

I just thought I mention it and say maybe the guys riding with tennis shoes, shorts, etc may want to rethink their clothing choices.

Any similar issues you guys have had?

Old 10-18-2008 | 10:57 AM
Shapeshifter Rider

Jeez! Did you kill it or run over it?

Old 10-18-2008 | 11:00 AM
|
Pro Rider

<div class="FTQUOTE"><begin quote>Originally posted by: scrambler400enoge

Jeez! Did you kill it or run over it?</end quote></div>

Both! Repeatedly.

Old 10-18-2008 | 11:12 AM
Trailblazer

never a snake but i have had other incounters,ran over a groundhog(he wasnt happy)hit a bees nest and on a fire road i came face to face with a black bear.

Old 10-18-2008 | 11:36 AM
Pro Rider
Runs Stealth!

Hey,

Kicked up deer a bunch of times and a FOX once
ran under me. When I was riding last week up in the mountains
I was riding about 20mph and down by my right shin
felt like something darted me. I don't know, I looked all around
to see if a branch or something, I wonder if a squirrel or some other
small animal if I kicked up and hit my wheel well or something?

Agreed, jeans, boots at least should be worn on wooded trails