Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

2009 Sportsman 400 ho with plow

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2009, 10:32 AM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2009 Sportsman 400 ho with plow

I have a 400 ho 4x4 that i just put a plow and winch on for the winter. I am new to atvs just wandering if there is anything i should or could do since adding the plow to it. I know most have 500s and bigger but i really like the mid size. I thought i read something about the spring being adjusted or something but i'm not sure. Thanks for the help.

Old 11-01-2009, 11:50 AM
Super Quad Patrol
I'm watching you!
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

welcome. as far as power goes, you have plenty to plow with. you may want to crank up the front springa to help w/ the added weight of the plow. also wouldn't hurt top use a charger or battery tender on the bike to help keep the charge in the battery. the winch is used strickly off the battery and the charging systems of the wheeler will be working harder to keep up w/ the demand on polwing. imo

Old 11-01-2009, 01:32 PM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Ditto on Sten's post. Also, try to keep the snow from packing in around the cv hubs. Can get rock hard and tear boots. Never had a 400 myself but if it has a high and low range always plow in low. Good luck with your new ride!

Old 11-01-2009, 02:13 PM
Super Quad Patrol
I'm watching you!

Originally Posted by switzomatic
Ditto on Sten's post. Also, try to keep the snow from packing in around the cv hubs. Can get rock hard and tear boots. Never had a 400 myself but if it has a high and low range always plow in low. Good luck with your new ride!
it only has high, but geared low enough so it doesn't ned low.

Old 11-01-2009, 05:32 PM
Pro Rider

I agree, I keep mine on a battery tender all winter, and I would crank up the front springs if they are adjustable to help the sag with the plow