Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

HELP! 800 Throttle problem

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2009, 11:51 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HELP! 800 Throttle problem

Hey all! I am in desparate need of help. I am not a mechanic by any means... but I do TRY and do things myself.

I have a 2007 Sportsman 800cc EFI. I bought in Feb08 brand new. Last Sunday, I starter her up and was going to use it to winch off a round-bale of hay for my horses. I got on... and the thumb-throttle appeared to be stuck. I put in park and applied a little more pressure... it gave, reved high up, I let off and it killed.

I thought I snapped the throttle cable as the thumb controler was stuck in a midway forward position rather than back to idle position. I was out of town this week and couldn't work on it. Just got back and started tearing it apart. I opened up both the handlebar housing and the throttle body housing down by the engine. The cable doesn't appear to be broken. If I hold the throttle open just a little bit (to keep the sensors apart), I can get it to fire up... but it revs WAY up. When I push the thumb throttle in, I can see that it is pulling the lever in the throttle body. The throttle cable does appear to stick open... but a little push on the lever in the throttle body snaps it back into place.

A little background as well... I power-washed the wheeler after hunting (3-4 weeks ago). It was not freezing cold out when I did it... When this happened the other day, it WAS freezing. It is possible that water is a problem... but not sure WHERE it would cause the problem. I don't see any water.

I called the service guy at the nearest polaris shop... and he didn't have a clue.

I know people here are gods when it comes to this stuff... so I am hoping someone has an answer. Someone PLEASE HELP!!!!

Old 12-12-2009, 02:54 PM
Range Rover
Received 1 Like on 1 Post